Things I’ve Learned in My Two Years of Sobriety

By Joe Hardin

Hello all, I recently celebrated my second year of sobriety, and with this came a new chapter with its own difficulties and rewards. I still have waves of shame that come and go the things I’ve done people I’ve disappointed and hurt. The feeling is a good thing, take this and use it to fuel your desire to carry forward with this change.

Be Proud

A sense of pride, the second year has brought me a sense of pride and confidence that I’ve never had in the 39 years I’ve been on this earth. I am also enjoying the little moments that would have otherwise never been on my radar.

Stay Humble

Learning to stay humble has been very important in this phase of my sobriety; I always feel like the key to staying sober is knowing not to be complacent and never getting too comfortable. This hard work will always be a part of my life. The challenging work begins now that my sobriety’s “honeymoon” stage is over.

Everything Takes Time

You can’t fix everything at once. In recovery, it takes time. Most sober individuals have a lot of “fixing” to do, especially to those that stayed by our side while we were in active addiction. I’ve learned most people will forgive you in recovery, but you can’t mend all relationships instantly; sobriety will be a constant work in progress.

Best regards, Joe

Leave a comment

Get updates

From art exploration to the latest archeological findings, all here in our weekly newsletter.

Subscribe